October Reading

November 4, 2011 at 7:31 am Leave a comment

Witches’ Bane: a China Bayles mystery by Susan Wittig Albert.  I had picked up her book, ‘An Extraordinary Year of Ordinary Days’, her journal of thoughts, reading and writings during the tumultuous 2008.  I didn’t actually get to it before it was due back, but I decided to try out her novels.  It’s a quick, easy, fun read.

Rubies in the Orchard: How to uncover the Hidden Gems in your business by Lynda Resnick with Francis Wilkinson.  I devoured this book, trying hard not to feel inadequate.  She and her husband have successfully built several iconic brands such as POM Wonderful juice, Teleflora, Franklin Mint and Fiji Water.  They have done it with an eye to social and environmental responsibility.  I choose to be inspired!

The Last Summer: a novel by John Hough, Jr.  I enjoyed this novel and read it quickly.

And I Shall Have Some Peace There: trading in the fast lane for my own dirt road by Margaret Roach.  It’s her story of leaving Martha Stewart Magazine and moving to her house in the country.  I prefer stories where people take their lives way less seriously.  I must admit to just skimming the last half.

Raven Stole the Moon: a novel by Garth Stein.  A wonderful debut novel set in Alaska about Tlingit legends, love and grief. Thoroughly enjoyable. Garth is an entertaining guy as you can see here at a reading he does.

The E-Myth Revisited: why most small businesses don’t work and what to do about it by Michael Gerber.  I reread this one.  I won a signed copy at a workshop last month so I figured I better read it! It’s a little dated, but still a great way of looking at your business.  A must-read for every business and worth rereading every few years.

Entry filed under: Book Report. Tags: , , , , , .

The Effortless Business Running in the Background

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Three Success Factors

I have worked closely with 100’s of business owners and I have seen too many struggle. I have seen what works and what doesn't.

It takes 3 things to succeed:
1. Hard work - and I know you do that already.
2. Knowledge - domain knowledge: you've got that and continue to learn; and business knowledge: this is where everyone focuses and it's easy to find
3. Mindset - This is the killer app. This is what makes or breaks small business owners.

We work on Mindset here at the Business Owners Success Club: how you think about yourself and your business.

When you focus on a business that gives you what you need to live a Good Life and gives others what they need to solve a problem, everything else falls into place and you have a successful business.

Using that as a framework we work on one aspect of business every month. February is "Your Place in Your Community" month.

In March we will open the doors to our online community. Stay Tuned.

Sign up here to play along.

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Here’s the short and sweet version

Here’s what others liked


