Keep Going

March 15, 2011 at 10:30 am 2 comments

I watched Bourne Identity over the weekend.  One of the things that really struck me was that he didn’t stop.  Before we get going here, I recognize this is a movie and therefore may be somewhat artificial, but A) I’ve seen how this works in real life and B) I’ll take lessons from Bourne any day.

In this, the Embassy escape scene.  He keeps moving.  He gathers information, he improvises and he keeps moving.  How many times have we been in a situation where we thought, that’s it, we’re done here.   Yet, even when we think we are done, if we keep going, we find we can keep going.

He is chased to the top of the building and he escapes out an old fire escape door.  When he jumps up onto the railing to get to the roof, the railing pulls away from the wall he jumps back down.  He doesn’t stop, he begins to climb down the few remain rungs of the old escape ladder.  As the guards burst through the door he gains a foothold on the building and grabs on.  He climbs down using the brick layers.  At one point he makes it to a ledge and without so much as a breath he swings himself out over and continues to climb down.  Once on the ground, he picks up his dropped bag, brushes the snow off himself and walks quickly away.

First off, I’m not up for climbing up or down the outside of buildings, but I couldn’t help but think if I were, I’m not sure I wouldn’t have stopped a few times to rest, take stock, and think about what I were doing.

That’s the point I’m making.  We stop too much.  We would get much farther if we just kept going.

When have you experienced this? – keeping going, not climbing the outside of buildings – or maybe climbing the outside of buildings.  When should you have?

Entry filed under: 3. Do It, Aside. Tags: , , , , , , .

Financial Statements What I look for right now on my Financial Statements

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joshua  |  March 16, 2011 at 1:01 am

    I really like this post. While there is a place for rest – even Bourne rested sometimes – we do need to be active more often. There is something magical about being pushed to the limit and working with everything you’ve got (even if you don’t think you can).

    Back when I used to run regularly, my favorite part was always the end. I’d pour everything left in me into the final sprint. I almost always found energy I didn’t know I had.

    Reply
  • 2. Frances Schagen  |  March 16, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    I find, too, Joshua, that it helps being very clear about where I am moving. Otherwise I end up keeping moving going no where.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Three Success Factors

I have worked closely with 100’s of business owners and I have seen too many struggle. I have seen what works and what doesn't.

It takes 3 things to succeed:
1. Hard work - and I know you do that already.
2. Knowledge - domain knowledge: you've got that and continue to learn; and business knowledge: this is where everyone focuses and it's easy to find
3. Mindset - This is the killer app. This is what makes or breaks small business owners.

We work on Mindset here at the Business Owners Success Club: how you think about yourself and your business.

When you focus on a business that gives you what you need to live a Good Life and gives others what they need to solve a problem, everything else falls into place and you have a successful business.

Using that as a framework we work on one aspect of business every month. February is "Your Place in Your Community" month.

In March we will open the doors to our online community. Stay Tuned.

Sign up here to play along.

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Here’s the short and sweet version

Here’s what others liked


